the churchie finalists announced

Mon, 09/10/2017 - 06:51 -- eyeline

From over 900 artworks submitted, 30 emerging artists have been selected to exhibit in this year's churchire emerging artists award. The 2017 pre-selection panel consisted of QUT Art Museum Curator Kevin Wilson, Assistant Curator of International Art at QAGOMA, Abigail Bernal and Vicky Leighton, Head of Art at Churchie.

Congratulations to finalists:

Abdul-Rahman Abdullah (WA)
Kim Ah Sam (QLD)
Gunjan Aylawadi (NSW)
Alexander Beech (NSW)
Georgina Cue (VIC)
Farnaz Dadfar (VIC)
Liss Fenwick (VIC)
Graziela Guardino (NSW)
Sam Holt (NSW)
Anna Horne (SA)
Beverley Iles (WA)
Christine Ko (QLD)
Amber Koroluk-Stephenson (TAS)
Louis Lim (QLD)
Joy Ivill (NSW)
Rebecca Marshall (VIC)
Merete Megarrity (QLD)
Hayley Millar-Baker (VIC)
Olivia Moroney (TAS)
Pierre Mukeba (SA)
Yuria Okamura (VIC)
Hannah Quinlivan (ACT)
Anna Louise Richardson (WA)
Claire Robertson (VIC)
Aaron Robinson (VIC)
Alexandra Standen (NSW)
Anne Stevens (SA)
Adam Stone (VIC)
Cyrus Tang (VIC)
Hannah Toohey (NSW)

The Major Prize and three Commendations winners will be announced at the official opening of the exhibition, open to the public, at QUT Art Museum on Saturday 11 November. The exhibition will remain open until 17 December and will feature artworks from each of the 30 finalists.

The overall prize winner will be awarded a $15,000 non-acquisitive cash prize sponsored by long-time supporters of ‘the churchie’, Brand + Slater Architects, along with Two Commendation Prizes of $1,000 each (sponsored by Madison Cleaning and Painting Services) and a new Special Commendation Prize of $5,000 (sponsored by NK Orthodontist).

Images of the finalists works can be viewed here.

Pierre Mukeba, James 2:10, 2017. Brush pen and fabric applique on cotton. Courtesy the artist and GAGPROJECTS, Adelaide.